Appaloosa Horse Club

Appaloosa Youth Association

Appaloosa Youth Association

The Appaloosa Youth Association was established to emphasize good horsemanship through proper methods of training both horse and rider; to provide recognition for young people who own or show Appaloosas; to promote ideals of citizenship, sportsmanship, showmanship, and leadership, and to promote capabilities of youth in breeding, raising, and competing on Appaloosas.
A variety of activities are available and may include team tournaments, speech contests, art and essay contests, photography contests, youth clinics, scholarships, horse shows, meetings and banquets.
The AYA offers a national point system. Points earned may lead to various lifetime awards, annual high point awards and awards to recognize outstanding youth and their horses. There are programs designed for the beginning showman as well as those that challenge the most advanced exhibitor.

Any individual 18 years of age or younger as of January 1st of the current year that is interested in Appaloosa horses is eligible for AYA membership. This membership is included with a family fee or may be purchased separately. The AYA has an annual general membership meeting held in conjunction with the World Championship Appaloosa Youth Show.

Join AYA

The AYA was the first youth organization of its kind. The Appaloosa Horse Club breed registry promoted the AYA, and it has now grown to include youth members from nearly every state and Canadian province, as well as from countries around the world.

Many AYA members choose to compete in ApHC-approved shows for national points and awards while others simply enjoy the pleasure of trail riding.
AYA members can enter fun contests, compete for educational scholarships and achievement awards, or even run for the AYA Board of Directors!

National Officers

President – Maisen Gores


Vice President – Nick Culwell


Secretary/Treasurer – Olive Holm


AYA Board of Directors

The AYA has a Board of Directors patterned much the same as the ApHC Board, wherein one director represents each zone (Zone A, Zone B, and Zone C) comprising each of the six ApHC territories.
In an effort to continue improving Appaloosa Youth Association, the youth directors meet annually at the World Championship Appaloosa Youth Show. Representatives from the various territories meet to discuss their recommendations regarding programs, rules, and awards as they relate to the youth program. These recommendations are then taken to the Youth Committee of the Board of Directors for their consideration.

Territory I


Olive Holm

Territory II

Heidi Tucker
New Mexico

Sophia Ciancio

Territory III


Anthony Mahloch

Territory IV


Korbyn Greathouse

Territory V

Stephanie Strachar

Nick Culwell

Territory VI

Emily Snippert

Autumn Husarenko
New Jersey