Appaloosa Horse Club

Incentives & Awards

Registers Of Merit

Racing Registers of Merit (ROM) can be achieved by obtaining a speed index of 80 or higher or achieving a speed rating of 98 or higher. A speed index or a speed rating will only be awarded for approved times at recognized official distances.

ERC Champion Year-End Horses

Annually, by written ballot of the ApHC’s Executive Race Committee, champion running horses in 13 categories may be named for year-end awards. To be eligible for the award, a horse must earn a minimum of $10,000 and have at least one graded stakes win or graded stakes placing in a race in where results are recognized by the ApHC.

Awards may be given in each of three age divisions:


  • Champion Two-Year-Old Sprint Colt
  • Champion Two-Year-Old Distance Colt
  • Champion Two-Year-Old Sprint Filly
  • Champion Two-Year-Old Distance Filly
  • Champion Two-Year-Old Sprint Gelding
  • Champion Two-Year-Old Distance Gelding


  • Champion Three-Year-Old Colt
  • Champion Three-Year-Old Filly
  • Champion Three-Year-Old Gelding

Four and Older

  • Champion Four & Older Stallion
  • Champion Four & Older Mare
  • Champion Four & Older Gelding
  • Champion Claiming Horse (Only claiming races will be considered for champion claiming horses)
In addition to the above champions, a Supreme Champion Two-Year-Old and a Champion Appaloosa Race Horse (three and over) is chosen.

Medallion Awards

Racing medallions are given to the top three eligible horses in each age and sex category. Medallion points are figured using a formula of the number of wins times the money earned as officially recorded by the ApHC, for the qualifying year. Horses born on or after January 1, 2002 that do not have a regular (#) or CPO (CN) Certificate of Registration are not eligible to earn a medallion. Racing medallions are awarded to the first listed owner or lessee on record as of December 31 of the qualifying year.

Regional High-Point Awards

Annually, 45 high-point champions may be named, based on a point system which places emphasis on horses demonstrating consistency and durability in their performance within a specific region.

The regions include:

  • East-Central: Kansas, Michigan, Kentucky, and Florida
  • South Central: Oklahoma and Texas
  • West-Southwest: New Mexico, Colorado, Wyoming, Utah, and Nevada
  • Western: California
  • Northwest: Montana, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington
The following categories in each of the 5 regions may receive a certificate of recognition:
  • Regional Champion Two-Year-Old Colt
  • Regional Champion Two-Year-Old Filly
  • Regional Champion Two-Year-Old Gelding
  • Regional Champion Three-Year-Old Colt
  • Regional Champion Three-Year-Old Filly
  • Regional Champion Three-Year-Old Gelding
  • Regional Champion Four & Older Stallion
  • Regional Champion Four & Older Mare
  • Regional Champion Four & Older Gelding

Oklahoma-Bred Program

The Oklahoma-bred incentive program is designed to promote and reward horse breeding and racing in Oklahoma. The program was established by the legislature in 1983 and, as required by law, administered by the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission.
An accredited Oklahoma-bred horse is one that’s foaled in Oklahoma, out of a permanently domiciled, accredited Oklahoma-bred broodmare, and sired by an accredited Oklahoma-bred stallion. In alternating years, foals by nonaccredited stallions may be registered as accredited Oklahoma-breds providing all other requirements are met.
Each Commission-licensed racetrack in Oklahoma is required to offer as race conditions no less than two Oklahoma-bred-restricted races per day. In addition, tracks offer Oklahoma-bred funds in open company races, including some stakes races, on an if-eligible basis when funds allow. Each time an accredited Oklahoma-bred racehorse earns a purse supplement, the horse’s owner, breeder and sire owner earn Oklahoma-bred monies.